NOLA

New Orleans has been near the top of my travel wish list for a long time and I was so excited to check it out with two of my favorite people for a college roomie reunion. Leading up to the trip, we were a little overwhelmed by the long list of recommendations from friends who had gone and loved it. In the end, our trip was a combination of some of those tips and some things we stumbled upon. At the risk of adding to said long list, here are some of the highlights.

French Quarter
We stayed a block off Bourbon Street in a great apartment. I had some people tell me to avoid this area completely, which I think is a bullshit recommendation. It’s the thing to do in the place to do it. We drank hurricanes. We did a tarot reading. We had absinthe. We danced in the street to Beyonce. We had no regrets.

Beyond the booze, we had some delicious noms. I don’t eat seafood but I kind of get into crab in certain formats. I really enjoyed the crab cake alfredo at Oceana and the super unique crab meat cheesecake at the Palace Cafe. And of course we had to get beignets, though we opted for Cafe Beignet over du Monde since it was close by. It had the most adorable courtyard where I could have sat forever.  

Garden District
Our second night, we ventured over to the Garden District and had one of the best fried chicken meals of my life. No, it wasn’t at Willie Mae’s, where pretty much everyone told us to go. We got a tip from a local to eat at Joey K’s and it was in the area where we wanted to bar hop so that’s where we went. I’ll never be able to compare it to Willie Mae’s but I kind of don’t care. It was my death row meal come to life, it was unreal, and once again, I had no regrets.

Our server there was awesome and wrote out a list of places for us to go, which we followed almost to a tee and it made for a great night. Balcony Bar gave us call backs to house parties at UD. The Bulldog had a great courtyard with a cool tap fountain. I had trouble finding anything local on tap up to that point so it was nice to order a flight of local brews. And we wrapped things up at The Delachaise wine bar before heading back for some more Bourbon Street debauchery.

Frenchmen Street
For our last night, we checked out Frenchmen Street. It was very crowded but a different vibe than Bourbon Street. There was live music at each bar we went to: A super fun band at Bamboula’s; a band I don’t really remember because we were so focused on the absolutely stunning bartender at Maison; and the Jason Neville band at Vaso who had us dancing and loving life and never wanting to leave NOLA. It was seriously the best night.

The daytime stuff
We did two tours: Mardi Gras World and Save Our Cemeteries. It was super interesting to learn about the history of Mardi Gras and everything that goes into it. I had no idea there were so many parades, for example. Seeing the elaborate artwork of the floats up close was really cool, too. And our guided walk through St. Louis Cemetary #1 provided some history on the city and fun facts – like seeing Nicolas Cage’s future burial tomb. Oh and I added Louisiana to the list of states I’ve ran in (number 19) with a nice route down to the riverwalk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Normally this is the part in my trip recaps where I would ask what I missed out on and what you think others should check out. But we’re at maximum information overload as it is. To summarize: NOLA was everything I hoped it would be. The people were so nice. The food was ridiculous. The music was so good. And I was so happy to be with my two college roomies!

One thought on “NOLA

Leave a Reply

