Indy Half race recap

Since I started running five years ago, my big fall race has always been the Monumental, which is my favorite race. This year I will be out of town though so I took the chance to check out the Indy Half.

My training season, if you can even call it that, was the shittiest I’ve ever had. My schedule has been insane. I didn’t run nearly as much as I should have. And when I did, it definitely wasn’t fast. This is also the heaviest I’ve been in a long time so that’s literally been weighing me down. Oh and did I mention this course is super hilly (relative to Indiana) and everywhere I normally run is super flat?!

20161008_080254

Heading into race day, I was mentally preparing for the worst but also trying to relax and enjoy it. The weather was perfect and the course was beautiful, winding through Fort Ben on a mix of roads and trails. I started out a little faster than planned with my first mile at 10:18. I decided to go with it but faced my first challenge in mile three. Some people walked up the giant hill but I knew I had to keep moving, even if it was super slow. There’s something mentally for me about walking in those situations. It feels like it would be too easy to never start running again.

I was so glad when the road started evening out. I made it! Now I just had to calm my breathing and pick up my pace. I was really happy with how quickly I recovered and got back in a groove. I panicked a little after mile 6 when my watch told me I was under a 10:00 pace. There was no way I could maintain that until the end, I thought. But I felt really good and my competitive drive wanted to see how long I could hold on to it.

There were some smaller hills sprinkled throughout the course but I grew more confident with each one. I kept my pace under 10:00 and knew I was going to finish strong. Then mile 11 almost crushed my soul. That damn mile was entirely uphill (or at least felt like it) but I kept fighting and only slowed down to a 10:18 split.

In the final push, I felt like I was moving so slow but posted a 9:31 split on the last mile and crossed the finish line almost in disbelief. I conquered the toughest course I’ve ever raced and finished in 2:12:09, my third fastest half (of seven).

20161008_105210

I expected the worst and instead left with a complete runner’s high and huge sense of pride. I worked hard for my 2:09:15 PR in April, but this race was a different accomplishment and yet another reminder that I need to believe in myself more.

One thought on “Indy Half race recap

Leave a Reply

