Barbells for Boobs 2014 campaign

Last year everyone’s generous donations combined to help me raise $2,000 for Barbells for Boobs. That paid for 25 people to get mammograms who wouldn’t otherwise have been able to. I completed the crossfit workout “Grace,” lifting up all the women in my life (and theirs!) who have been affected by breast cancer. It was a day I won’t soon forget! You can read all about it here.

2013102695103120 20131026_102220

My gym is participating again this year on October 18 and is part of the National Pink Bra Tour because we raised so much last year. Unfortunately I will be out of town but this cause means so much to me that I’m committed to raising funds. And one of the coaches has agreed to stand in for me and do the workout twice that day if I hit my goal. That’s how much Crossfit Naptown supports this initiative!

I know a lot of people complain about October and breast cancer awareness. They are over everything turning pink and wonder how donations to “awareness” efforts impact any real change. What I love about Barbells for Boobs is that your money goes directly toward prevention. Every $80 raised funds one mammogram and as you likely know, early detection is critical with breast cancer.

I hope you’ll consider donating and sharing with anyone else who might be interested. Any amount you can give is greatly appreciated!

Here’s the link to my fundraising page: https://fundraise.barbellsforboobs.org/fundraise?fcid=339204

 

Leave a Reply

