Beer Quest 2014

On Saturday a group of friends and I went on a quest. A beer quest. Our mission: Bike around Indy to check out some of the new craft beer players in town, with stops at a few trusted favorites along the way. Yes, it was as awesome as it sounds. And no, this wasn’t the first time we’ve done it. I missed last year due to Woods Go West (where I bought the perfect shirt to rock this year!) but you can read all about the inaugural Beer Quest here.

IMG_20140906_102235

Our group was a little smaller this year and changed up at each stop. One friend and I biked up from downtown to our starting point in Broad Ripple. Two friends met us later in the route and used the Pacers Bike Share. Others drove and met us for one or two stops. We were on the Monon Trail, the Cultural Trail, bike lanes on downtown streets and more. I biked close to 25 miles with five official stops plus three extras we tacked on to keep the party rolling.

Before I get into reviews, I have to give a disclaimer. I have very particular beer preferences. I rarely enjoy IPAs, stouts, porters, etc. I go for blondes, cream ales, lagers and kolsch. Some beer snobs out there will scoff at that but I know what I like and I drink it. I will sample everything though and did on Saturday. Just keep that in mind.

Stop 1: HopCat
The hype has been building for this place to open for weeks now so I had high expectations. With 100+ beers on tap, the selection certainly didn’t disappoint. I ordered an Alabaster (Belgian white) by local Oaken Barrel Brewing and enjoyed it. The space itself is nice too with tons of tables and booths.

The one problem I foresee is the potential for servers to not be able to keep up with the constantly rotating tap list. The menu is broken down by style, which is helpful, but I couldn’t quickly find any kolschs on the list. I asked our waitress and she basically admitted to not knowing what they had. To her credit, they ran out of at least three beers while we were there and loaded up different ones in their place. So I’m sure it’s crazy to stay on top of but if you want super knowledgeable staff who can make recommendations, this may not be the place for you.

20140906_121222 20140906_130028

 

Stop 2: Flat12
Flat12 has been around for a long time but we love it so it’s a Beer Quest regular. They have a great deck out back and it’s a nice break after the long ride down the Monon before moving on to downtown. The Penrod 22 I had was pretty standard.20140906_140843 20140906_141716

 

Stop 3: Two Deep
Not a lot of people have heard of this brewery yet but it was one of my favorites of the day. The location is a little random (on Capitol near Walnut) but the tasting room is awesome. I loved the vibe and décor, especially the Indiana-shaped flight board. They had a diverse lineup and even offered wine and liquor, which our one non-beer drinking friend appreciated.

IMG_20140906_151602 20140906_155858

 

Stop 4: Tow Yard
If this place is successful, it’ll be because of its food and great view of downtown, not necessarily because of its beer. Nothing really stood out to me on the beer list and the shandy variation I went with (The Hook Up) wasn’t great. Keeping in mind my personal preference, others may enjoy their beers more. I doubt I’ll be back though.

 

  20140906_16295520140906_161147

 

Stop 5: Chilly Water
Virginia Avenue has come a long way in the last couple years and Chilly Water is a great addition to keep the momentum going. The Built to Last pilsner I had was refreshing and the food was delish. Skip’s balls are a must order (just trust me on this one). The lighting fixtures were also very appropriate for our group.

 

20140906_173339 IMG_20140906_172744 20140906_184744

 

Overall it was a great day with great friends biking around a city I love. Cheers!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beer Quest 2014

Leave a Reply

