Here we go again: Monumental training update

When you’ve tackled the seemingly impossible once, doing it again should be nothing, right?

I’m less than a month out from running my second half marathon, the Monumental here in Indianapolis. When I signed up for the race last year, I wasn’t a runner. The thought of 13.1 miles was overwhelming and intimidating. Each week I was running a distance I never had before and crossing the finish line on race day was an incredible experience

I signed up for the 2013 race as soon as registration opened up but I was burned out from training. In December, I took a break from running and started crossfit. I ran a marathon relay and volunteered at a marathon in the spring but didn’t really do much else. When August rolled around, I had to get serious again. During the first week, I really regretted not running more throughout the year as I was basically starting from scratch.

Training plan

Kids Voice Indiana 5kMy first few runs were slow. I was annoyed with my pace but trudged on. August included the Kids Voice Indiana 5k and a couple super hilly runs while on vacation in Portland and Seattle. And I battled the ridiculous late summer heat and all the sweat that came with it.

Something awesome happened in September – the 13th to be exact. I ran 3.1 miles and my time was 4 minutes faster than the Kids Voice Indiana 5k six weeks earlier. The next day I had the best run of my life. Seriously, it was one of those runs where everything clicked. The weather was perfect, I was well rested and coming off the high of my fast 5k time. From the first step, I knew I had it and I felt like I could keep running forever. I even had a brief moment of insanity where I thought maybe I would do a marathon one day. It was that good of a run.

There’s nothing quite like the runner’s high. I called my dad after and probably sounded like I was drugged up. Luckily he’s been running forever and could relate. My streak of solid runs continued in September and my body settled into the faster pace. I did the Back on My Feet Relay with a great group of people from Crossfit Naptown and ran the 10k race in the Corporate Challenge.

Back on My Feet Relay     Corporate Challenge 10k

This weekend I had 10 miles on the schedule. Last year, I was freaking out about that distance. This year, it was nothing. My confidence is on another level. I attribute some of that to the fact that I’ve done these distances before (albeit almost a year ago) but I also credit Crossfit Naptown. I’ve done things I never thought I could do in the last 10 months there and my progress inspires me to tackle all my goals head on.

10 miles

So here I am. Less than a month out from the half marathon and 100 percent ready to rock this race. I have one last long run on the books, which just happens to be the Tough Mudder in Kentucky on Oct. 20. After that I’ll taper and take it easy in the two weeks leading up to the race.

I’ll probably back off of crossfit too in that last week, but not before Barbells for Boobs. Every $80 I raise pays for one mammogram for someone who would not be able to afford it otherwise. Consider donating on my page and join us on Saturday, Oct. 26, when I will complete a workout called Grace: 30 clean and jerks at 65# for time.

Barbells for Boobs

What race(s) are you training for? How is it going? When was the last time you experienced the runner’s high? I want to hear all about it!

5 thoughts on “Here we go again: Monumental training update

  1. Sounds like you are almost ready for the half! I’ve always wanted to run Monumental but I tend to cut back on mileage too much in the summer. I’m thinking about the Hot Chocolate 15k in Columbus and the Cincinnati Thanksgiving 10k.

  2. Way to go!! Your running/fitness journey has been very inspiring to me. I really appreciate how honest you are about feeling like certain obstacles were ridiculous and impossible… it makes it all the more relatable, and when you ultimately overcome them, it doesn’t seem unthinkable that I could do the same thing. I don’t think I’ll be WODding anytime soon, but because of you I started thinking a 5k is something I could totally accomplish! So thanks!

    • Where’s the “love” button because I love this comment!! You should never doubt that you can achieve greatness, whatever the goal may be. I can’t tell you enough how proud I am of you for rocking out that 5k. Anything you do is better than doing nothing and now that you’ve done it once, you know you can do it again! Can’t wait to see what’s next for you!!

  3. Pingback: A Monumental Day | Melanie Woods

Leave a Reply

