Sedona Celebrations

As I fly over Sedona, the red rocks catch my eye. It’s as if they were kissed by the rising sun and remnants of her ruby lipstick remain forever stained.

I scribbled those lines three years ago as I was flying from Phoenix to Flagstaff en route to the Grand Canyon. Sedona was breathtaking from the air but this weekend I got to experience it up close and personal. One of my best friends got married there and it was an amazing weekend filled with love, laughter and lots of partying.

The red rocks are never far from sight in Sedona. In sticking with my half marathon training schedule, I ran 10 miles one morning. The views were unreal and certainly helped distract me from the distance – my first time running double digits!

If you really want to take in the views though, you have to do a Pink Jeep Tour. We went on the Broken Arrow Tour, which I believe is the original and most popular one. The jeep takes you to parts of the red rocks inaccessible to the general public. I tried to capture the fun in these videos:

 

 

For those who want to get some good pictures but not necessarily hike, the Midgley Bridge is a good pull off point. You can also access the Wilson Canyon Trail there, which splits into several trail heads. We walked about a mile and a half on the trail before turning around because the sun was getting low.

After hitting the trails, you’ll definitely work up an appetite. Luckily Sedona has a variety of good dining options. The rehearsal dinner was at Olde Sedona Bar & Grill. The food is great and they have an awesome patio that overlooks the red rocks. After the rehearsal dinner, we headed over to the Full Moon Saloon. They had karaoke, which the bride loves, and our group rocked out on the mic for a few hours. It was a fun, laid back spot with friendly locals willing to share the stage.

Other crowd favorites were Javelina Catina and Oak Creek Brewery. Javelina is known for its fajitas, which most of the group ordered. I had a chimichanga which was straight up the best I’ve ever had. The food at Oak Creek Brewery was good but as a craft beer lover, I was more interested in the brew. Their Doc’s Pale Ale was a little too hoppy for me but the Forty-Niner Golden Lager was excellent.

Of course the best part of the trip was celebrating the happy couple. The ceremony and reception were in the Tlaquepaque village, in Patio de las Campanas and Calle Independencia, respectively. It was absolutely gorgeous, fitting of the love Matt and Katie have for each other. I was honored to be part of the festivities and left Sedona with new friends and memories that will last a lifetime.

Check out photos from the trip! Note: press play then click the button in the bottom right corner to make it larger.

One thought on “Sedona Celebrations

  1. Pingback: Hopeful Half Marathoner: Don’t Play to the Results « Melanie Woods' Blog

Leave a Reply

