Hopeful Half Marathoner: Random Thoughts

Some random thoughts as I end week six (of 12) training for the Indy Monumental half marathon:

  • In the last six weeks, I’ve ran 96 miles total. INSANE.
  • Running requires an investment. Good shoes and quality gear are expensive but it truly makes a difference. When you run four days a week, you need socks that help your feet breath, tech shirts that help you stay dry and sports bras that keep your girls in check. If you need gear or have questions about running in general, I highly recommend the Athletic Annex. The staff is very knowledgeable, friendly and encouraging!
  • Your investment isn’t just money, it’s also time. I’ve had to skip out on some stuff or have extra long days in order to get my runs in. But I’m seeing results and I know I’ll be ready to go on race day because of my training plan.
  • I’ve  been doing most of my long runs on the Monon. I thought it would be repetitive and boring but there’s a sense of comfort and familiarity with the trail. The more times I run there, the less I think about exactly where I’m at and just settle in to my run.
  • I’m up to 8 miles now, which took me 1:23:12 today. Race day will be more than two hours of running. That’s a long time to stay entertained. Music helps and the Monon provides some decent people watching but I find myself thinking about really random things. Curious what other runners do to pass the time.
  • Even though I run alone, there is a sense of community out on the Monon. There are groups passing out water, strangers exchanging high fives and runners/walkers/cyclists of all shapes, sizes and ages. I love it!
  • I have a tendency to get really excited about everything I do – because if you’re not excited about what you’re doing, why are you doing it? Just ask my friends who created a drinking game for every time I talked about volunteering for the Super Bowl (drink). I’ve become full on obsessed with running. I can’t stop talking about it, reading about it, blogging about it. Annoying? Maybe. But I hope my friends understand that talking about it keeps me accountable.
  • With two 8-mile runs on the books, suddenly double digits don’t seem so impossible. Once you’ve done eight, 10 isn’t that far off. And 13 isn’t that far off from 10…so maybe this whole half marathon thing is really going to happen.

Catch up on my training updates from week one and week three

9 thoughts on “Hopeful Half Marathoner: Random Thoughts

  1. Hey Melanie…Congrats…My running journey is coming to an end soon. I am slated for rotator cuff surgery on 10-8-12. My goal of 1,000 miles for the year is within site. I am sitting on 942.63 with less than two weeks to go. I have run 109.92 miles in the last 22 days…I know if I can achieve my goal of 1,000 miles in less than 10 months, you can run this half marathon. I am so happy for your success and your mental toughness. God Bless my friend…prc

    • 1,000 miles in 10 months is amazing!! Sorry to hear surgery is cutting you short but you should be super proud of yourself. Hope the procedure goes well and your recovery is quick! Thanks for your support.

  2. Pingback: Sedona Celebrations « Melanie Woods' Blog

  3. Pingback: Hopeful Half Marathoner: Don’t Play to the Results « Melanie Woods' Blog

  4. Pingback: Thirteen Point One « Melanie Woods' Blog

Leave a Reply

