We’re So Breckenridge Right Now

It’s no secret: I love to travel. When my friend Brooke invited me to her destination wedding in Breckenridge, Colo., I really wanted to go but wasn’t sure I could afford it. I’ve already been to Argentina this year (Buenos Aires and Mendoza) and will be traveling to Sedona in October for another wedding. I quickly determined that life is not about the money, it’s about the memories. Once I got my first sight of the Rocky Mountains, I knew I made the right choice and ended up having an amazing weekend celebrating life, love and great local beer.

Brooke and me

Before heading out to the mountains, Brooke, Ryan and I spent the night in Denver. Highlights of our limited time in the city included hanging out with my childhood friend Kris at The Irish Snug, enjoying a delicious breakfast at Jelly and acting like total tourists with a bike we rented at one of many stations they have set up around the city (take notes Indy!).

Our drive out to the mountains was absolutely beautiful. Breckenridge was exactly the charming, picturesque mountain town I thought it would be. You could walk everywhere and the mountains never left your sight. Doesn’t get much better than that!

Breckenridge is a ski town but there is still plenty to do, despite it being summer. Main Street is lined with shops selling everything from cheap souvenirs to high end clothing and jewelry. A popular attraction is the gondola that takes you up the mountain for free. At the top is a ski resort with putt putt golf, a roller coaster and a tube slide. I didn’t get to go up the ski lift to the very top of the mountain but I was told by people in our group that the views were breathtaking.

Also, not sure when I became that person who runs on vacation but I ran up the mountain twice. I wanted to challenge myself and see how I would do in the high altitude. I felt great, survived the extreme incline and fell in love with the view so I had to go back for more the next day. Ridiculous, I know.

The miles I logged did nothing to help to offset the liquid calories I consumed on the trip. Colorado has some seriously good local beers. As a fan of craft beer, I was in heaven. I quickly became obsessed with True Blonde Ale by Ska Brewing Company. I also enjoyed their ESB Special Ale. Breckenridge Brewery had some good selections too, including the Summer Bright Ale and Avalanche Ale.

Of course there were good eats too. Some of my favorites included:

  • Fatty’s Pizzeria: It’s called Fatty’s so you know they do pizza right!
  • The Warming Hut: Cute patio with a view of the mountains and the tots and mac n’ cheese were delicious.
  • Rita’s: Guac, queso, tacos…do I need to say more?
  • Hearthstone: The reception was held here and the food was fantastic. Great fine dining option.
Check out pictures from the wedding and Breckenridge below! Note: click the button in the bottom right corner of each slideshow to make them larger.

If you are looking for a vacation destination, I would definitely recommend Breckenridge. I absolutely loved it and hope to check out more of Colorado in the future!

2 thoughts on “We’re So Breckenridge Right Now

Leave a Reply

