2011: The Year of Crazy Awesomeness

Year-in-review posts are inevitably cheesy and self-indulgent so I went back and forth on whether or not to write one. A lot happened in 2011 though so I hope you’ll bear with me as I reminisce on what ended up being the year of crazy awesomeness.

I waited to post this blog for one reason: One year ago today I randomly decided to get my ass off the couch and on to a treadmill. In that time, I’ve lost 75 pounds. 75 pounds! It doesn’t even seem real, or possible. It’s hard for me to put into words what this journey has been like. I tried in this blog post when I hit the 50-pound mark but even that didn’t quite do it justice. To sum it up: I feel better in every way possible. I’ve still got 15 more pounds to lose but I’m more motivated than ever to keep going!

The other big change in my life was deciding to make a career move. I was lucky enough to work with some amazing people in my last job and am fortunate to have landed with a great team in my new position. And my second day in the new gig, I got to drive a semi-truck. Gotta love it.

Other notables from 2011:

  • I vacationed alone for the first time down in Tybee Island and Savannah. I loved every minute of my trip and would definitely recommend traveling alone if you haven’t done it before.
  • I played fantasy football for the first time and quickly became obsessed. And I dominated: League champion, regular season champion and highest scoring team! Did I mention I’m obsessed?
  • I had a great time in Asheville visiting my brother. You should seriously consider it for your next vacation spot. Asheville has something for everyone.
  • And I… made a Sexy Rexy foot face sign for Pierre Garcon, went to the Indy 500 for the first time, saw my favorite singer Adele in concert, cheered on my brother as he graduated college, traveled to Austin, volunteered with the Women of Hope event that raised more than $365,000 for breast cancer research, bought more art than I have wall space for, attended my last ever Harry Potter midnight showing, experienced the suite life at a Colts game, went to the very top of the Indiana Statehouse and was chosen as a finalist for Indy’s Best and Brightest Award in the Government category.

Crazy awesome, right? Can’t wait to see what 2012 brings!

17 thoughts on “2011: The Year of Crazy Awesomeness

  1. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA! You are amazing! And you LOOK amazing. I’m so proud to be your friend and have been able to have a front seat throughout this transformation. And later, you are going to turn some heads in Argentina… 🙂

    • Thanks!! I know I’ve said this a million times but I honestly believe I wouldn’t have made it this far without the support of friends like you. It is incredibly motivating to have people cheering you on and dragging you to the gym at 8:30 in the morning and understanding when you *gasp* have to turn down a beer.

      So cheesy but thanks 🙂

    • Thanks Efe!! You helped push me along the way, encouraging me to branch out and try spin and other classes. It’s been a journey but it’s made easier with awesome friends like you! Roomies for life 🙂

    • I miss you too Rick! You and everyone else at the SOS office witnessed my journey from the start. Your support early on was instrumental in helping me kick off this whole process and keep it up as long as I did. I can’t thank you enough for your friendship and support.

  2. Sounds like a very nice year Ms. Melanie. What will you do to top all of that in 2012? 😉 If you find yourself in SW Turkey in the next month or two I’ll teach you a bit about rock climbing! HAHAHA, see you down the road… maybe the same road that our moms see each other on from time to time!

  3. I can’t tell you through enough social media how freaking amazing you look or how proud I am of you! You are one of my real-life role models (my list of fake-life role models includes Veronica Mars, for comparison), and I am constantly trying to figure out what it is that makes you so awesome so I can strive to be even a fraction of as cool/smart/driven/inspiring as you are.

    After 75, 15 is nothing. I’m rooting for you the whole way!

    MELANIE WOODS, YOU #CANGETIT. FORVER AND EVER.

    • I am honored to be in the same (real or fake) category as Veronica Mars! Seriously though, I can’t say enough how much I love our friendship and that I can talk to you about anything (on multiple social media platforms at once no less!). And to think, it all started because you and Jim bonded over music in your internship interview! We owe him a beer.

      And you obviously #cangetit too 🙂

  4. roomie!!

    a) why u gotta hate on cheesy self indulgent end of year posts? they are awesome! cheesy self indulgence is emo and amazing.

    b) i know you already know, but to say i am proud of you doesn’t even begin to describe it. from the crap we ate in college, to get where you are today is an amazing accomplishment and i know how hard you worked for it. love you lots! way to be a rockstar!

    • You do love your year-in-review posts!

      I love that we’ve gone from food partners in crime to waking up early to workout on a Saturday. We’ve both had incredible journeys so far – I’m just as proud of what you’ve been able to accomplish! I know we’ll be able to keep rocking it out with the support of each other. Love you and miss you lots!

  5. Pingback: Hopeful Half Marathoner: Week One « Melanie Woods' Blog

Leave a Reply

