Calling all art lovers!

I like to think of Indianapolis as a city full of best-kept secrets. We may not be the first place that comes to mind when people plan their getaways, but that’s probably because they don’t realize everything Indianapolis has to offer. I’ve already blogged about the number of local restaurants with amazing food but one of our other best-kept secrets, and one of my personal obsessions, is the local art scene.

Ask the average person to name a city that’s good for art lovers and they’ll probably list off the usual suspects: New York, D.C., Chicago. We may not have the Met, but as a self-professed art addict and amateur collector, I can proudly say there are plenty of opportunities in Indy to get your art on.

Yongqun Guo

Artist: Yongqun Guo Valparaiso; Broad Ripple Art Fair

It at all starts with the fantastic Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA), which continues to impress me with the high caliber exhibits it brings in. For example, the Andy Warhol exhibit was an amazing experience and a chance for me to learn more about all aspects of Warhol’s life and career, not just his iconic pieces. And the great thing about the IMA is that it features art of all kinds. You can take a trip back to the 1930s at the Lilly House, take in beautiful views in the gardens, and get lost for hours in the truly unique 100 Acres.

Coffee Table

Artist: Corey Shutters, Indianapolis; First Friday

Beyond the museum, Indianapolis has several monthly and yearly events that bring you up close and personal with art and the artists themselves. This past weekend I went to one of my favorite events: the Talbot Street Art Fair. This free event features a mix of local and out-of-state artists specializing in a wide variety of mediums. And the quality of the art is really, really good. So much so that I forced myself to leave my wallet at home this year. Literally every wall in my apartment has art on it so I have to take a break from buying…or move into a bigger place. Did I mention I’m an addict?

The Broad Ripple Art Fair is another must-see for art lovers, and usually takes place in mid-May. Similar to Talbot, it has a great mix of artists and mediums. There is a fee to get in, but the fair serves as the largest fundraiser for the Indianapolis Art Center which further cultivates the art scene by providing classes, exhibitions and more.

If yearly events aren’t enough to satisfy your art addiction, check out IDADA’s First Friday. On the first Friday of every month, studios and galleries in the downtown vicinity open their doors to the public for free. It’s the perfect chance discover and support local artists. On my last First Friday venture, I bought a purse made out of the old RCA dome roof, combining two of my biggest loves: art and the Colts.

Watch what happens pictureI'm just dreamin picture

*Artist: David Michael Hensley, Indianapolis

I haven’t even scratched the surface but you get the point. One of Indy’s best-kept secrets is our art scene. If you haven’t experienced it, go out and get your art on! For my fellow art addicts, leave a comment and let me know what you love about Indy’s art scene!

4 thoughts on “Calling all art lovers!

  1. Pingback: Argentina Adventures: Buenos Aires « Melanie Woods' Blog

  2. Pingback: Beer me « Melanie Woods' Blog

  3. Saw some of David Michael Hensley’s work at an art fair and really liked it. Do you happen to have his website?

    • Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find a site for him. It’s been so long since I bought the flower pieces that I can’t find his card either. Sorry I can’t be more help!

Leave a Reply

