Live-tweeting: Love it or hate it?

One of the reasons I love Twitter versus other social media platforms is that it lends itself to universal conversations. That is, I can search for people talking about a specific topic and jump right in with my thoughts, even if I don’t know them personally. This conversation is typically facilitated by the use of hashtags, which make it easier to find people talking about the same thing.

The times I end up connecting with people the most on Twitter is usually when I’m live-tweeting. Live-tweeting is essentially sharing your thoughts on an event as it is happening in real time. If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I’m pretty much addicted to live-tweeting. On Sundays, particularly during Colts games, I’m a football tweeting machine. Today just happens to be the Super Bowl so I’m sure I’ll be sending out several tweets during the game.

I love seeing who is tweeting about the same TV shows, watching the same games as me and who may be at the same event I’m tweeting from. It creates a collective experience and provides a connection that might not have otherwise been established. It’s also interesting to see people tweet during crazy weather, which we’ve certainly had enough of this week in Indy.

On the flip side, I also like when people I follow live-tweet events. For example, if I can’t attend Hoosier PRSA luncheons or Indy Social Media Breakfasts, I can follow the hashtag and see what people at the event are saying. It’s a great way for me to peek in on events I can’t attend. It’s obviously not the same experience as being there in person, but it’s a pretty good substitute.

I recognize that not everyone is as enamored by live-tweeting as me. Some people say it’s annoying and fills up their timeline. Others may not be interested in what you are live-tweeting about. I usually try to give my followers a heads up if I know I’m going to be tweeting a lot from an event. And there are certainly people I follow who live-tweet about things I don’t necessarily care about, but I just skip over their tweets and move on. If you really don’t like live-tweeting, of course you can always unfollow someone, but you might also consider these other options.

So what do you think about live-tweeting? Have you connected with people who were tweeting about the same thing as you at the same time? Are you one of the people who hate it? If so, how do you deal with the overload of tweets? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “Live-tweeting: Love it or hate it?

  1. I think you hit it right on the head. Live-tweeting is at its best when you find people that are sharing the same experience as you. I have gotten some followers this way. One of the best things about twitter is that the information comes and goes so fast that it is really hard to be annoyed about live-tweeting. It is fun and gets you more into whatever you are tweeting about. Great article.

  2. Thanks for commenting Rahsaan! I look at how the two of us connected as the perfect example – in two different parts of the state, both peeking in on the same event utilizing a Twitter hashtag. The fact that we ended up having a mutual friend made it all the more interesting!

    I guess it goes back to the concept that you get out of social media what you put into it.

Leave a Reply

