Do you Devour?

Whenever I travel to a new city, I try to search for local restaurants – places I wouldn’t normally be able to eat at in my hometown of Indianapolis. Venturing away from chain restaurants and going local gives me the chance to experience the city and support small businesses. I’ve had some amazing meals in Chicago (DMK Burgers), Cincinnati (Nada), Washington DC (Matchbox) and Phoenix (Oregano’s), among others.

If I’m looking for great local eats, however, I don’t have to travel far. One of the many reasons I love living in Indianapolis is because of the number of local restaurants with amazing food. And one of my favorite Indy events just happens to involve several of those local eats: Devour Downtown.

Devour Downtown Logo

Devour Downtown is a two-week event where more than 45 restaurants in downtown Indianapolis offer special menus at a lower price. A typical Devour Downtown menu includes a three-course meal for $30, with some restaurants offering a 2 for $30 deal. You can’t beat that price, especially given the high caliber restaurants that participate. And the great thing about Devour Downtown is that it occurs twice a year, in the winter and summer, giving you even more opportunities to try new places.

I’ve been participating in Devour Downtown for the last two years and I absolutely love it. It’s a great chance for me to try new places, especially restaurants I may not normally be able to afford. If I enjoy the restaurant (which I usually do), I’m that much more likely to go back and recommend it to others, particularly out of town visitors.

I’m partial to the steakhouses on the list, which admittedly are not always local restaurants, mainly because I think you get the most bang for your buck. Last week I went to Morton’s The Steakhouse for the first time and enjoyed a Caesar salad, filet mignon, mashed potatoes loaded with butter, sour cream and bacon, and chocolate mousse to top it off.

Filet mignon and mashed potatoes at Morton's Steakhouse Chocolate mousse at Morton's Steakhouse

It was insanely delicious. I was in steak-lover heaven and the best part was that the entire meal was the price of the steak alone on a normal visit. This week I’m looking forward to trying one of the restaurants in Fountain Square and visiting some of the local art galleries and studios as part of IDADA First Friday.

Devour Downtown ends this Saturday, February 5, so don’t miss your chance to participate! Already devoured downtown? Share your favorite spots and what you recommend on the menu!

3 thoughts on “Do you Devour?

  1. My Devour Downtown evening with friends at Oceanaire got interrupted by Ice Storm 2011. My leftovers at home paled in comparison.

  2. Pingback: Calling all art lovers! « Melanie Woods' Blog

  3. Pingback: Beer me « Melanie Woods' Blog

Leave a Reply

